users online
Contact me



Kōtō is one of the 23 special wards of Tokyo, Japan. As of 2008, the ward has an estimated population of 442,271 and a density of 11,070 persons per km². The total area is 39.48 km². The ward refers to itself as Kōtō City in English.

Kōtō is located east of the Tokyo metropolitan center, bounded by the Sumidagawa to the west and the Arakawa to the east. Its major districts include Kameido, Kiba, Kiyosumi, Monzen-nakachō, Shirakawa, and Toyosu. The newly developed waterfront area of Ariake is in Kōtō, as is part of Odaiba.

The western part of the ward was formerly part of Fukagawa Ward of Tokyo City. It suffered severe damage in the Great Kantō Earthquake and was heavily bombed during World War II.

The special ward was founded on March 15, 1947 by the merger of the wards of Fukagawa and Jōtō.

No comments:

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ MUCH MORE ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Packing List

Subway Maps

Currency Exchange

View Guestbook Sign Guestbook Weather Transportation Accomodation Maps